Unsung Heroes 2019

Thank you to our sponsors and guests for making this year's Unsung Heroes Awards such a great success. This would not have been possible without Wakefield District’s own Unsung Heroes, who brought the whole evening together through their inspirational stories.

Trevor Waddington presented with the Overall Winner’s Award by Mary Creagh MP with host Harry Gration on stage.

Winners of the 2019 Unsung Heroes Awards

 Alison Drake, Castleford Heritage Group – Life Time Achievement Award

Ann Penistone, Knottingley Angel Memorial

Ann Ramsden, Rosalie Ryrie Foundation

Dawn Weathers & Lynne Jones, Busybodies Day Nursery

Georgia Greening (14), Childen’s Hospice Fundraiser – Tim Henman Youth Award

Hazel Richardson, Warwick Estate, Neighbourhood Watch

Hollie Wicks (17) Havercroft & Ryhill Youth Centre Volunteer

John Walter, Horbury Breakthrough Youth Project – People’s Choice Award

Kirstie McDonough, Wakefield District & National Patron, Operation Encompass

Mathew Lightowler, Crofton Youth Worker

Rob Elson, Crofton Litter Picker

Stuart Macauley, Pontefract Martial Arts Club Leader

Trevor Waddington, Pontefract Collieries Football Family – Overall Winner’s Award

Hold the date: Friday 15 May 2020 for Unsung Heroes 2020, Cedar Court Hotel

For information on how to sponsor, nominate or book your table please contact


Make a one off donation above via Local Giving, or learn about how you can help.